DUI Attorney in Altamonte Springs, FL
Have you been arrested for a DUI?
Traffic Crimes/ DUI, DUI Manslaughter, DWL, and Other Criminal Traffic Citations
Getting pulled over for a DUI is not pleasant. Having a good DUI lawyer is key. Most often your 1st DUI, if close to the legal limit, will result in a Wet Reckless plea bargain, if one is available, and if your lawyer does what he or she needs to do. There are things that you should know. First and foremost, the implied consent law in Florida requires you to submit to an alcohol test. If you refuse, there are consequences to your license which a lot of people do not know. When you submit to the test, there are certain things you should also know. First, if your alcohol level is below the legal limit, well…great. If your alcohol level is at or above the legal limit there are several types of DUIs that you can be charged with depending on the circumstances and depending on if you injured anyone or destroyed property. Also, there are different penalties depending on how many DUIs you have had. Contact Attorney Jonathan Torres if you have questions about DUIs in Florida.
Here is an idea of the penalties you could be facing in Florida for a DUI:
Penalties for a 1st DUI are 180 days to a 1-year revocation. If the offense involve serious injury to another, at least a 3-year revocation. The good thing of a 1st DUI is that before the end of the revocation period, you can apply for a hardship license in the county where you live only for work and limited purposes. As a result of your conviction for a 1st DUI, you will have to attend DUI School. After all is said and done, in order to reinstate your driver’s license you are required to pass an examination and pay the administrative fees and revocation reinstatement fees. You will also have to have proof of Bodily Injury Coverage through your auto insurance carrier in the amount of $100,000 per person, $300,000 per occurrence, and $50,000 property damage liability on the arrest date or proof of liability coverage, and a reinstatement fee of $150 up to $500 for subsequent violations will be required.
Penalties for a 2nd DUI are a little harsher. A second offense not within 5 years from prior conviction will result in a 180-day to 1-year revocation, and you will be unable to apply for a hardship license. The full revocation period must be served before requesting driver license reinstatement. Penalties for a 2nd DUI within 5 years will result in a 5-year revocation. You can apply for a hardship license after serving one year from effective date of revocation. DUI School and treatment, if referred, must be completed, and you must have a favorable recommendation from the Special Supervision Services Program to be eligible for a hardship license.
Penalties are even worse. If your 2nd conviction is within 10 years or more of second conviction it will result in a 180-day to 1-year revocation, unless the last 2 of the convictions fall within 5 years in which case a 5-year revocation will apply. You are not eligible for a hardship license, and you must wait out the revocation period. A third offense within 10 years of second conviction will result in a 10-year revocation. You must serve 2 years of this revocation period before being eligible to apply for a hardship license.
4th DUI and Subsequent DUIs
The penalties for these are even more stringent. You must serve 5 years of this revocation period before being eligible to apply for a hardship license.
Your license will be permanently revoked, and you must wait 5 years before you are eligible to apply for a hardship license.
Contact us in Altamonte Springs, Florida, us to discover more on the legal process with help from our team. Our attorneys offer services for clients throughout Central Florida.